Gecko vert de Bourbon translocation

The reintroduction of the Bourbon Green Gecko ( Phelsuma borbonica ) in particular should contribute to the restoration of all the functionalities of the semi-dry forest. This native species with traces found on the Grande Chaloupe site, is a likely pollinator of the trees of the semi-dry forest whose nectar and fruits are appreciated, such as the brown mazambron ( Aloe macra ) or the Petit Vacoa ( Pandanus sylvestris ).

50 individuals sampled

In preparation since 2009, the translocation of green Geckos de Bourbon from the Plaine d’Affouches site to the Grande Chaloupe is a first in La Réunion. Enriched by the experience of the Mauritian Wildlife Foundation in Mauritius, the feasibility studies and the drafting of the protocol of the operation resulted in 2016 in the authorization of the translocation action by the National Protection Council of Mauritius. nature.

50 individuals were then sampled in April 2018 using PVC tubes on the source population of Bourbon Green Geckos from the “Hauts” of La Montagne, which is estimated at more than 1,000 individuals per year. Indian Ocean Nature Association (NOI). IUCN recommends not to harvest more than 10% of the total population of a protected animal species. To meet this criterion, 30 females and 20 males from the source population were sampled based on their size and weight.

This translocation operation, carried out by the LIFE + Forêt Sèche project with the support of NOI and agents from Réunion National Park, will lead to accurate monitoring (camera / fingerprinting device). In respect of the release protocol defined beforehand, the Geckos were introduced near planting sites, in the heart of the relics of the semi-dry forest of the Grande Chaloupe in the hope of recreating a functional forest.

Translocation du Gecko vert de Bourbon

La réintroduction du Gecko vert de Bourbon (Phelsuma borbonica) en particulier doit contribuer à la restauration de l’ensemble des fonctionnalités de la forêt semi-sèche. Cette espèce indigène dont des traces ont été retrouvées sur le site de la Grande Chaloupe, constitue un pollinisateur probable des arbres de la forêt semi-sèche dont il apprécie le nectar et les fruits, tels que le mazambron marron (Aloe macra) ou le Petit Vacoa (Pandanus sylvestris).

50 individus prélevés

En préparation depuis 2009, la translocation de Geckos verts de Bourbon du site de la Plaine d’Affouches vers la Grande Chaloupe est une première à La Réunion. Enrichies par l’expérience de la Mauritian Wildlife Foundation à l’île Maurice, les études de faisabilité et la rédaction du protocole de l’opération ont abouti en 2016 à l’autorisation de l’action de translocation par le Conseil National de Protection de la Nature.

50 individus ont été alors prélevés au mois d’avril 2018 dernier à l’aide de tubes en PVC sur la population-source de Geckos verts de Bourbon des « Hauts » de La Montagne qui est estimée à plus de 1 000 individus par l’association Nature Océan Indien (NOI). L’UICN recommande de ne pas prélever plus de 10 % de la population totale d’une espèce animale protégée. Afin de respecter ce critère, 30 femelles et 20 mâles de la population source ont été prélevés en fonction de leur taille et de leur poids.

Cette opération de translocation, menée par le projet LIFE+ Forêt Sèche avec l’appui de NOI et des agents du Parc national de La Réunion, donnera lieu à un suivi précis (dispositif caméras/relevés d’empreintes). En respect du protocole de relâche défini au préalable, les Geckos ont été introduits non loin des sites de plantation, au cœur des reliques de la forêt semi-sèche de la Grande Chaloupe dans l’espoir de recréer une forêt fonctionnelle.